Photo of a Student on a Laptop

eMentors

BCTC eMentors
2013-2014

Keith Allen, keith.allen@kctcs.edu
Andy Ball, andrew.ball@kctcs.edu
Bob Biega, bob.biega@kctcs.edu
Kevin Craycraft, kevinr.craycraft@kctcs.edu
Bill Davis, williams.davis@kctcs.edu
Robin Davis, robin.davis@kctcs.edu
Kevin Dunn, Kevin.dunn@kctcs.edu
Staci Holderman, staci.holderman@kctcs.edu
Becky McCane, becky.mccane@kctcs.edu
Sandra Mullins, sandra.mullins@kctcs.edu
Clovis Perry, Jr. clovis.perry@kctcs.edu
Connie Rine, connie.rine@kctcs.edu
Bill Snyder, billd.snyder@kctcs.edu
Kathy Swango, kathya.swango@kctcs.edu
Ben Worth, ben.worth@kctcs.edu

Email Distribution List

bl_ementors@kctcs.edu

Program Overview

eMentors are experienced, online faculty members who share their expertise with new online instructors. eMentors are placed as teaching assistants within a new instructor's Blackboard course shell, allowing the eMentor direct access to an instructor's class and enabling the eMentor to provide suggestions and give feedback to the new faculty member. eMentors are expected to provide the new faculty member with recommendations for course syllabi and policies, Blackboard layout, course content (where appropriate), effective communication practices, course shell organization, assignment construction and to share best practices for teaching in an online environment. eMentors also help troubleshoot Blackboard and other technical problems the new faculty encounter. eMentors will be expected to keep a log of their interactions with new instructors. eMentors email addresses will be placed in a distribution list available to BCTC faculty; eMentors are expected to participate in answering faculty questions sent to that list.

Training

eMentors complete training provided by the Online Facilitators and the Assistant Dean for Distance Learning. This training typically takes a work day to complete and is scheduled in the Spring semester.

Evaluation

eMentors will be evaluated by the Assistant Dean for Distance Learning with assistance from the Online Facilitators. The evaluation process will include feedback from the new faculty advised by the eMentor, entries from the eMentor's log and an eMentor self-assessment.

Leadership

Serving as an eMentor is counted as Educational Leadership. The amount assigned is typically 1-3% depending on the number of new faculty the eMentor advises. The exact percentage will be determined in consultation with the eMentor's division Assistant Dean.

Selection Process

Every Spring, a call will go out for faculty to serve as eMentors for the following academic year. Applicants will be asked to submit an eMentor Application. The application will be reviewed by the Assistant Dean with input from the Online Facilitators and the applicant's Program/Area Coordinator and Division Assistant Dean.