A new course is created when sections are merged in PS. Students will be able to enroll in separate sections of your course, but only the new course will appear in Blackboard. Any content in the old sections should be exported to your computer before requesting a merge and imported into the new course once it is created. Warning! Extremely Important! Old content will disappear into Cyberspace. Consequently, export, export!
Merging multiple sections of the same online course prevent the instructor from having to access several different Blackboard shells to upload materials, check course messages, etc.
Blackboard and PeopleSoft synchronize at 4:00 a.m. each morning. Therefore, your new merged course will not appear until 4:00 a.m. the next day. For instance, sections that are merged on Thursday at 10:00 a.m. will not show in Blackboard until Friday at 4:00 a.m.
Please do not submit a request until your schedule has been confirmed by your Coordinator. Also, changes can not be made to merged sections after the course has been made available to students.