Important Notice

alert iconBCTC offices will be closed in observance of the Thanksgiving Holiday, November 26-29. The college will reopen on Monday, November 30.
[More Info]


Mar 14, 2014 - | 12:25 PM -

The Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) Board of Regents, during its quarterly meeting today, announced the selection of  a presidential search consultant and committee to assist in the selection of the next KCTCS president. Current and founding KCTCS President Michael B. McCall announced in November his plan to retire January 15, 2015. 

The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) will assist KCTCS in the search for the next KCTCS President. ACCT, a Washington D.C. full-service firm, will provide assistance with recruiting a diverse applicant pool, developing the position and institutional profiles, evaluating candidate application materials and providing reference checks.

“ACCT has an excellent track record both nationally, and in Kentucky of providing presidential search leadership to community colleges,” said P.G. Peeples, chair of the KCTCS Board of Regents. “I believe they are the best partner to assist us in selecting a president who will ensure we build on Dr. McCall’s strong legacy, which will allow us to continue on the strategic course of being the nation’s premier community and technical college system.”

ACCT has previously assisted KCTCS with leadership searches for Owensboro Community and Technical College, Henderson Community College and Hazard Community and Technical College. ACCT has nearly 40 years of experience conducting national searches for multi-campus colleges and systems including the Louisiana Community and Technical College System, the Alabama Community College System and the Los Angeles Community College District.

The board also selected a presidential search committee to be co-chaired by Peeples and former KCTCS Board of Regents board member and secretary of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet, Thomas O. Zawacki. Committee members include:

• Ms. Marcia L. Roth - vice-chair, KCTCS Board of Regents; executive director of the Mary Byron Project, Louisville, Ky.
• Ms. Carolyn E. “Betsy” Flynn - secretary, KCTCS Board of Regents; chief executive officer, and chair of Community Financial Services Bank, Benton, Ky.
• Ms. Doris C. Thomas - KCTCS Board of Regents member; vice president of marketing and development for Commonwealth Health Corp, Bowling Green, Ky.
• Mr. Donald R. Tarter - KCTCS Board of Regents member; owner and chief executive officer of Tarter Farm and Ranch Equipment & Tarter Wood Products, Dunnville, Ky.
• Mr. Robert G. Cooper -KCTCS Board of Regents member; retired investment banker, Newport, Ky.
• Mr. Elijah Buell, Jr. - KCTCS Board of Regents member faculty representative; professor, Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College, Cumberland, Ky.
• Mr. John P. Dove - KCTCS Board of Regents member staff representative; director of information technology for Big Sandy Community and Technical College, Prestonsburg, Ky.
• Ms. Suzanne Tasayco - KCTCS Board of Regents member student representative; Gateway Community and Technical College, Florence, Ky.
• Ms. Jan M. Hite - KCTCS alumnus and former KCTCS Board of Regents member student representative (Henderson Community College graduate); Henderson City Commissioner, Henderson, Ky.
• Dr. Gloria S. McCall – KCTCS President’s Cabinet member; KCTCS vice president, Versailles, Ky.
• Dr. Anthony Newberry – KCTCS college president; president/CEO, Jefferson Community and Technical College, Louisville, Ky.
• Mr. F. Lee Hess - chair, KCTCS Foundation Board; retired president & CEO, BB&T, Lexington, Ky.
• Mr. Jeff Carpenter - Chair, Owensboro Community and Technical College Board of Directors; retired business owner, Owensboro, Ky.
• Mr. Greg Higdon - workforce representative; president and CEO, Kentucky Association of Manufacturers, Frankfort, Ky.
• Dr. Elaine Farris – community representative; retired school superintendent, Clark County, Shelbyville, Ky.
• Mr. Ben Ruiz – community representative; creative director, Adhawks Advertising & Public Relations, Inc.
• Mr. Dave Adkisson - community representative; president and CEO, Kentucky Chamber of Commerce,  Frankfort, Ky.
“The KCTCS presidential search committee not only reflects the diversity of the students and communities we serve, it is also composed of individuals committed to the search process and well-being of our system,” said Peeples.

Other action taken by the KCTCS Board of Regents included:

• Ratification of the approval of 18 new credit KCTCS occupational-technical certificate programs;
• Approval of an associate in applied science in healthcare facilities leadership for Owensboro Community and Technical College;
• Approval of the awarding of three honorary degree candidates: These include:
   o Mr. Don Ball, co-founder and owner of Ball Homes, Inc. for Henderson Community College,
   o Mr. Joe Ben Tucker, owner of Tucker Funeral Homes, for Madisonville Community College, and
   o Ms. Charlene S. Harris, chief executive office of the First National Bank of Russell Springs, for Somerset Community College.

• Approval of 2,950 candidates for credentials (certificates, diplomas, and associate degrees) between October 24 2013 and January 16, 2014. These include:
   o 1,729 candidates for certificates,
   o 216 candidates for diplomas, and
   o 1,005 candidates for associate degrees.

The next KCTCS Board of Regents meeting will be held on June 13, 2014, at Somerset Community College.