A new course is created when sections are merged in PS. Students will be able to enroll in separate sections of your course, but only the new course will appear in Blackboard. Merging multiple sections of the same online course prevent the instructor from having to access several different Blackboard shells to upload materials, check course messages, etc.
Coordinators may consider combining multiple sections in PeopleSoft by increasing the class capacity of a single section. For example, PSY 223 has a cap of 32. An instructor teaching three PSY 223 sections could have one PeopleSoft section with 96 students. As a result, this would prevent the need to merge the three sections and the instructor will still carry a three-course load.
All requests for merging must be submitted 2 business days prior to the start of class.
There are alternative tools for instructors who cannot or choose not to merge: